We select and review products independently. We may earn affiliate commissions from buying links, which help support our website. Learn More.
How to Do A Factory Reset on Your Apple iPhone And iPad 2

How to Do A Factory Reset on Your Apple iPhone And iPad

There are several reasons why you might want to reset your Apple iPhone or iPad to factory settings, but not everyone knows how to do it safely. Before you open the configuration menu and click “Erase”, you should first be clear on a few points. A factory reset cannot be undone. So get it right the first time!

When Should You Do A Factory Reset on Your iPhone OR iPad?

If your iPhone slows down or freezes, it may be time to reach an agreement. Before resetting your device to factory settings, first, try some things. Restarting the iPhone (turning it off and on again) can solve many problems and save a full factory reset. For this reason, this is known as a soft reset, since you will not lose any of your data and applications. If you have already tried the software restart and still have problems, the next best option is a full factory reset.

How to Do A Factory Reset on Your Apple iPhone And iPad 3

If you reset your iPhone or iPad to factory settings, all data will be deleted. It means apps, photos, music, everything! Therefore, you want to make a backup of this valuable data before pressing the erase key. If you sell or give away your iPhone, a factory reset is the best way to make sure your confidential information is not shared. It also gives the buyer a new phone feel, as it behaves like a new iPhone when it is first turned on.

If you are sure that a factory reset is the best option for you, continue with the following method.

How to Backup Your Valuable Data

There are two ways to back up your iPhone or iPad: either via iCloud or iTunes or on your iOS device. Both methods are pretty easy to do, and Apple’s iOS makes everything reasonably intuitive. Follow the steps below to back up your device.

  • Go to your device’s iCloud menu. It’s in SettingsiCloud and press Backup.
  • You can see when the last backup was made. Apple devices do this regularly when connected to a Wi-Fi network.
  • Touch Backup now to make an updated backup of your data.

Follow the steps below with iCloud and iTunes to back up your computer or Mac.

  • Connect your iPhone or iPad with a charging cable to your computer or Mac.
  • In iTunes, click the iPhone or iPad icon and follow the on-screen instructions to make a backup.

How to Perform A Factory Reset

After backing up your data, you can restore your iPhone or iPad to factory settings without worrying about losing valuable photos or personal messages. As there is no return here, it is very important that you have not skipped the backup step of this manual. Follow the steps below to completely remove your iPhone or iPad.

  • Go to SettingsGeneral, Reset and then tap Erase All Content and Settings.
  • You must enter your password to confirm that you are restoring the factory default settings.
  • In the latest version of IOS, you often receive a warning that tells you to backup. If you want to confirm, you can touch Backup and then Erase. If you just backed up, you can switch directly to Erase.
  • Next, you must enter your Apple ID and password to confirm the factory reset.
  • You can also do it through iTunes if you have connected your device to your computer with a charging cable.
How to Do A Factory Reset on Your Apple iPhone And iPad 4

Your iPhone or iPad now removes all data and software updates and restarts on a new phone or tablet, exactly the day you took it out of the box. It can now be sold, recycled or given away, or you can restore the backup you just created if you restore it to factory settings to restore performance issues.

Have you ever performed a factory reset on your iOS device? Share tips with our readers in the comments section below.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.