We select and review products independently. We may earn affiliate commissions from buying links, which help support our website. Learn More.
4 Ways to Do a Factory Reset on Your Mac 2

4 Ways to Do a Factory Reset on Your Mac

Macs are generally reliable. But as with all computers, sometimes things go wrong. However, before spending large amounts on your new Mac, try a factory reset that will wipe your computer and reinstall a clean version of macOS.

Restoring factory settings is also the best way to prepare your old computer for the new owner to ensure that the remaining information doesn’t fall into the wrong hands. Here is how to remove everything and start over with factory settings.

Jump to Sections

  1. Reboot Your Mac
  2. Via Recovery Mode
  3. By Erasing Data
  4. By Restoring From A Backup

Reboot Your Mac

Reboot the computer first. The easiest way is to hold down the power button until a dialog box appears, and then select Restart. Otherwise, you can select the Apple icon in the upper-left corner of the screen and choose Restart.

Procedure to reboot mac

You can also use the Ctrl + Command + Eject shortcut (or the on / off switch) if your computer is frozen and you can’t trust macOS to complete the task.

Via Recovery Mode

When the computer shuts down, press Command + R until you see the Apple logo. Release the keys and let the Mac startup. It may take some time to start up. So be patient.

Factory reset Via Recovery Mode factory reset

Instead of opening normally on your desktop, your Mac starts in recovery mode. You must select the appropriate user profile and enter the password before gaining complete control. In the ‘macOS Utilities‘ windows, you can now restore from a Time Machine backup, install a new copy of macOS, access instructions from online, repair a damaged hard drive, or delete all data.

To remove everything and start over, choose Disk Utility.

Read more: How to Do A Factory Reset on Your Apple iPhone And iPad 

By Erasing Data

Select the startup disk under the Internal heading and click Erase at the top of the ‘Disk Utilities’ window. A dialogue box opens. Change the format to Mac OS Extended (Registered) and click Delete. When the process is complete, go to the Disk Tools menu in the upper left corner and click Exit Disk Utility.

4 Ways to Do a Factory Reset on Your Mac 3

Please note that once this process is complete, you will no longer be able to restore the deleted data on the drive. If you suspect that you still need information about your hard drive, we recommend that you first back up to an external hard drive or sync important files with iCloud.

By Reinstalling macOS

Factory reset by reinstalling macOS

The next step should be to reinstall macOS on your computer. On the ‘macOS Utilities‘ screen, click Reinstall macOS and follow the instructions to install a clean version of your operating system. If you want to sell your computer, you can skip this step and ask the new owner to install macOS.

By Restoring From A Backup

If have saved your files with Time Machine Backup, you can now restore them from the macOS Utilities screen. Click Restore from Time Machine Backup and then select the appropriate backup from the list to save the files again.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.